Misfit melodies

Standard

I had never felt more trapped than I did sitting in the back office banking environment. Every morning I would drag myself to work and try to justify what I was doing in a bank instead of following my passions, chasing my dreams.

I sighed through many afternoons often whispering to myself… ‘It will get better’. It was on one of those days when I felt a push of words overwhelm me. So I signaled my workmate I would be using the stand alone computer at the end of the workstation for a few minutes. And then the first words to this beautiful melody came to me… ‘There is grace for the broken’.

I quietly hummed through the entire song and within an hour or less; I had written lyrics to a full song that I believe God had put on my heart. So here are the wonderful whispers of the Holy Spirit that somehow found their way to my soul even in the most unlikely place.

There is grace for the broken, 

There is peace for the lost

There is prayer for the wounded if we would come

But we try and we try to reach out instead, to a world that’s already broken and hurting

Oh if we would share in Christ’s riches and power, we’ll find that he’s blood has provided

For our healing, for our purpose for his love we don’t have to keep looking

He is gentle; we don’t have to go searching no more.

For our healing, for our purpose, for his blood we don’t have to keep looking…

He is gentle; we don’t have to go searching no more.

We don’t have to go searching no more.

For our healing, for our purpose, for his blood we don’t have to keep looking…

There is power, in the blood of the lamb that was slain.

For our healing, for our purpose, for his love we don’t have to keep looking.

He is gentle; we don’t have to go searching no more.

When I looked up, I was so excited that I went and sang it for my friend Hazel K. It has stuck ever since. I no longer work at the bank, but am not where I dream to be either…that’s why my mind lately has been stuck on discovering my God given purpose. I’m just thinking today though, you’re not too far off, no matter what’s going on in your life. God can reach you, even in a room full of 45 people.

I hope to record this song and share it with those of us that are hurting. You don’t have to go searching no more.

Leave a Reply

